Fishing & Hunting Tips

Best Baitcasting reels under 100 | Top 10 Baitcast reel reviews in 2019

Fishing is just an all-out war against those delicious fishes. And no war has won without a strategic approach in both proper knowledge and equipment. In this war, however, a Baitcasting reel is the ultimate weapon of choice.

Now you also need to be smarter with the budget. That’s why I’m here to present you with a list of the best baitcasting reels under 100 bucks.

I think you also need the best baitcasting rods for the money to complete your budget fishing set up. In today’s competitive market, manufacturers are at war with each other in terms of budgets and performance. So looking for the best baitcasting reels under 100 dollars does not necessarily mean, you’re getting a bland product.

But if you wanna up the game a bit then getting the best baitcasting reel under 200 could be your cup of tea. You can also compare these two lists and see how much it differs in terms of price to performance.

Best Pick: Best baitcasting reels under 100

Top review team’s choice

Our team has reviewed and tested for hours and chose one product that outshines the others. And the winner is KastKing Royale Legend Baitcasting Reel.

The reasons are as follows

  • Overwhelming feedbacks from the angling community
  • Packed with upgraded state of the art features
  • Silent and smooth operation
  • Sleek finishing touches and ergonomic design
  • Looks cool

Before you jump into the article, are you using a proper repairing kit for your precious reel? How about synthetic reel oil? If you don’t have these essential tools then you’re beloved reel won’t last for long.

1. KastKing Royale Legend Baitcasting Reel

best kastking reel

 

Features

  • Low profile design with smooth silent retrieve
  • 5 lbs of carbon fiber drag
  • 11+1 Maxidur corrosion resistant ball bearings
  • Centrifugal and magnetic fine-tuned dual brakes
  • Twin colored anodized aluminum made whiffle style spool
  • 4-disc drag & 7-pieces of magnet braking system (whitemax)

Reel overview: Nearly all the great company in the history of mankind, KastKing started their visionary journey from a garage. Over the years, they produced some incredible fishing gears. The name King has been justified with their commitment towards quality.

Introducing the KastKing Royale Legend Baitcasting Reel. It performs like a king, it looks like royalty and with the overwhelming praise from the angling community, it will leave behind a legacy. Arguably one of the best KastKing reels ever produced. Now let’s break it down the possible reasons for its undisputed greatness.

Features Detail: First of all, there are four models of the KastKing legend. Both Royale Legend models have the same gear ratio 7.0:1 and are available in both left and right-handed.

KastKing whitemax baitcasting fishing reel offers two models with 5.3:2 gear ratio and both handed compatible model.

You will enjoy a smooth 17.5 lb drag with precision cut brass gear design and carbon fiber drag system. The ball bearings are protected with shielded Maxidur corrosion resistant layer and require minimal maintenance.

Royale Legend series also comes equipped with dual state o the art braking system and centrifugal magnetic engagement method. Now you have the fish stopping power and superior casting control.

Dual color anodized aluminum made multi-ported whiffle designed spool for lightweight and stable performance. Reel handle won’t get slipped of your palm, thanks to EVA padded stainless steel handle.

Reel Spec at a glance

Model Line cap
(lb/yds)
Line cap
(mm/m)
Retrieve
(inches)
Gear
ratio
Ball
bearings
Max
Drag
Weight
(oz)
Royale
Legend
10/195
12/165
14/125
0.26/180

0.28/150

0.30/110

28 7.0:1 11+1 17.64 7.5
Whitemax 10/200

12/165

14/120

0.26/180

12/165

14/120

21 5.3:1 11+1 17.64 7.5

Reputation: I had a good experience with the whitemax series. And it didn’t disappoint other anglers either. There are so many positive comments about the Royale and the KastKing whitemax review. This series has achieved an impressive 4.3 out of 5 stars.

Our thoughts: First if all, this is a super silent reel. It barely makes a noise. I also noticed how other anglers pointing out the durability and smooth performance. I had mine a year back and it hasn’t missed a bit. I landed bass, trout and even managed some heavy baits like big swimbaits, deep crankbaits, and large spinner baits. With this reel, your fishing season won’t have to end in the winter. Truly one of the best baitcasting reels in the market.

Pros
  • Feels more premium than the price tag
  • Can be used in saltwater with proper maintenance
  • Enhanced cold water performance
Cons
  • Nothing significant

2. Abu Garcia BMAX3 Low profile Baitcasting Reel

best abu garcia reel

 

Features

  • 1-piece graphite frame and side plate design
  • 4+1 stainless steel ball and roller bearing
  • Super smooth drag with the Power Disk system
  • MagTrax braking system
  • Compact bent handle for comfortable grip
  • Duragear brass gear for enhanced gear performance and durability

Reel overview: Abu Garcia is one of the major players in the angling market. From time after time, they produced cheap Baitcasting reels with potential performance. This is one of the best Abu Garcia low profile reel, the BMAX series. As the price tag, they kept it simple. But what little features are there, delivers flawless performance.

Features in detail: What our will immediately feel is the lighter weight. I wasn’t expecting it when I unpacked mine. At only 7.3 ounces, it is way lighter than some expensive reels out there. In my palm, I felt zero flex as I was reel handling it, you know what I mean. The single piece graphite frame and side-plate assure a solid construction.

I still remember hooking a 4.5-pound bass and barely felt any torque. As I was turning the handle, the grip felt firm. Didn’t have a single slip till this day. I gotta say, the smoothness isn’t all there as Abu Garcia claimed with this one. But nonetheless, those 4-stainless ball bearings and 1 roller bearing performed flawlessly without any grinding for longer usage.

The BMAX series is possibly the best baitcasting reel for beginners. You will be able to cast for the distance with the right lure of course. And while you’re casting, the external brakes makes alignment adjustment even if you are using a thicker fluorocarbon line.

The Power Disk, however, goes nighty night from time to time. Don’t worry, just pull a bit of line with our hand and it will find it’s rhythm.

Reel Spec at a glance

Model Handle
Position
Monoline
(lbs/yds)
Braid line
(yds/lbs)
Gear
ratio
Max
Drag
(lbs)
Retrieve
(inches)
Bearings Weight
(oz)
BMAX3 Right 12/145 30/140 6.4:1 18 26 4+1
roller
bearing
7.3
BMAX3-L Left 12/145 30/140 6.4:1 18 26 4+1
roller
bearing
7.3

Reputation: Given the price point of view, I sincerely was convinced that there will be some aw with this reel. But it surprised me big time. The BMAX series pulled out an impressive 4.5 out of 5 stars ensuring it’s pristine reputation. One of the best Abu Garcia reel for the money.

Our thoughts: You can use texas rigs, jigs, and Carolina rigs and even running lures like jerkbaits, crankbaits, and topwater with this reel. New anglers can enjoy the right velocity upon setting the hook and not ruin the reaction lures.

Ain’t I told you this is the best baitcasting reel for beginners? Well, I wasn’t exaggerating. I mean at the end of the day, you’re getting a reel who performs stably for under 50 bucks. Now that’s called a smart marketing move. Well done, Abu Garcia.

Pros
  • Value for the money
  • Holds up nicely even after a few seasons
  • Solid build quality and stable reel performance
Cons
  • The power disk system needs a little persuasion

3. Shimano Caenan A, low profile freshwater Baitcasting Fishing Reel

best shimano baitcasting reel

 

Features

  • Stable Spool Design (S3D) prevents vibrations & elevates to leverage power
  • Variable Brake System (VBS) maintains spool speed consistency
  • 63:1 gear ratio
  • 4+1 ball bearings
  • High-Efficiency Gear (HEG)

Reel overview: Shimano, a company that gifted us with some incredible fishing gears since 1978. They always target to produce products that are reasonably priced yet yielding outstanding performance. Introducing the Caenan low profile Baitcasting reel for Shimano. Let us take the freshwater angling to a whole new level.

Features in detail: This particular Shimano low profile reel is no joke. There are two models to choose from, considering you’re preferred handling position of course. Appearing with an aggressive look, it delivers enhanced strength and durability for longevity with the implementation of high-efficiency gear (HEG).

Shimano’s very own Stable Spool Design (S3D) incorporated with a Variable Brake System (VBS) yields unmatched castability with a wide range of lures and baits compatibility.

Reel spec at a glance

Model Hande
Position
Mono/
fluoro line
(lbs/yds)
Powerpro
line
(lbs/yds)
Gear
Ratio
Max
Drag
(lbs)
Retrieve
(inches)
Ball
Bearings
Weight
(oz)
CAE150A Right 10/120
12/110
14/90
20/150
30/135
40/105
6.3:1 11 26 4+1 7.2
CAE151A Left 10/120
12/110
14/90
20/150
30/135
40/105
6.3:1 11 26 4+1 7.2
CAE150-
AHG
Right 10/120
12/110
14/90
20/150
30/135
40/105
7.3:1 11 30 4+1 7.2

 Reputation: It’s no surprise that the Shimano Caenan series achieved 4.2 out of 5 stars. Angling community adored this classic compilation from Shimano. It may not offer an array of features and modern tweaks, but it performs well, and last a long time. Sometimes, simplicity outshines sophistication. I think budget anglers should get this best Shimano fishing reel.

Our thoughts: This is a solid performer. I used squarebill crankbaits, shallow castable umbrella rigs, shallow spinnerbaits and Medium depth crankbaits with this reel with zero issues. It elegantly operated multiple techniques and presentation. Bass anglers must be itching to find out. Trust me, it’s a reel that can perform sorcery.

Do j think this is the best Shimano Baitcasting reel? No, I don’t. But definitely, it takes the cake for being one of the best baitcasting reels under 100 bucks.

Pros
  • Simple, elegant, easy to use
  • Enough drag for a freshwater Baitcaster
  • Can last decades with proper maintenance
Cons
  • None

4. Daiwa Laguna Baitcasting Reel

daiwa laguna baitcasting reel

 

Features

  • Low profile frame with open access for easier thumbing & line maintenance
  • Lightweight composite frame and side plates
  • Twin-system continuous anti-reverse
  • Magforce magnetic ensures reduced backlashes
  • Featherweight, drilled aluminum spool

Reel overview: Since 1958 Daiwa started their journey. They introduced the first ‘open-faced reel’ and made a mark in the angling community. The Daiwa Laguna Baitcasting reel brings the quality and commitment to epic performance. Perfectly crafted low profile Baitcasting reel is ready to conquer the saltwater adventure. Unlike KastKing, the Laguna series ensure performance for the price. Let’s see how each feature operates.

Features in detail: Daiwa Laguna Baitcaster is completely redesigned lightweight composite frame and side-plate incorporated with 90mm swept handle for firm grip, even under strong wind and stress. Also features I-Shaped soft touch handle knob for comfort if you decide to go all day long. It sports a medium profile gear ratio rated at 6.3:1 optimal for squarebill crankbaits or shallow spinnerbaits or baits that triggers a reaction strike.

Lightweight drilled aluminum spool offers phenomenal line grip and Magforce magnetic system provide backlash-free control. The reel has the ability to fight resistant fish with its twin-system endless anti-reverse. For further smoother operation, Daiwa installed 5 stainless steel ball bearings and a single roller bearing. It just offers enough feature to perform optimally.

Reel spec at a glance

Model Handle
position
Monoline
(lbs/yds)
Braided
line
(lbs/yds)
Gear
ratio
Max
Drag
(lbs)
Ball
bearings
Retrieve
(inches)
Weight

(Oz)

LGN100-
HA
Right 12/120

14/100

40/115
55/85
6.3:1 10 5BB+1RB 25.7 7.7

 Reputation: This one is a classic Baitcasting Reel. There’s not much feedback available from the angling community. Take it from a regular angler like me. It will perform exceptionally. This generation might put features over faith. But if you do consider getting one, I can assure you won’t regret it.

Our thoughts: Straight up, this may not be the best Daiwa reels, but looking from the performance point o view, it certainly is one of the best classic baitcasting reels out there.

Pros
  • Top tier performance
  • Can last a lifetime with proper maintenance
  • Compatible for both salt and freshwater
Cons

Lacks sleek features to attract this generation

5. Lews speed spool LFS Baitcasting Reel

best lews baitcaster for the money

 

Features

  • 1-piece diecast aluminum frame
  • Durable & easy to remove graphite side plates
  • High-strength sturdy brass gearing
  • 10 double shielded stainless steel premium ball bearings
  • Speed spool with zirconia line guide
  • Anodized U-shaped aluminum spool

Reel overview: Lews has introduced their speed spool LFS Baitcasting reel to compete in the budget bracket. From performance to build quality, it delivers outstanding reliability and lightweight construction. Something regular anglers like me appreciate, especially in a long session. The combination of features complemented by an irresistible price tag, this one is possibly the best lews Baitcaster for the money.

Features in detail: If you want me to describe this reel in a few words then I would say lighter, stronger and faster compared to its competitor. Already renowned for its legendary speed, the premium materials enhance the speed even further.

It features a one-piece die-cast aluminum frame, helps keep the reel’s components perfectly placed. It also helps the reel to maintain it’s lighter weight while keeping the performance up a notch.

When you cast the externally tunable magnetic control system allows the line some quick adjustment on the fly. So you won’t have to worry about harsh weather conditions or diverse usage of different lures.

Convenience like sturdy removable graphite side plate to prevent your reel from wobbling when casting. High-strength brass incorporated with durable Rulon drag system allows 10 lb of max drag power. Enough to land a medium sized walleye or trout.

Those 10 double shielded ball bearings system prevents any corrode from forming and Zero-reverse one-way stainless steel clutch bearing grants you instant t fish stopping power. Lews very own iconic custom soft-touch paddle handle knobs let you fish for longer. You can literally hear the click once you use that graphite smooth star drag brake system. Zirconia line guide to keep our line aligned once you cast and retrieve the line.

Reel spec at a glance

Model Monoline
(lbs/yds)
Gear
ratio
Ball
Bearings
Max
drag
Retrieve
(inches)
Handle
position
Weight
(oz)
SS1HA 12/120 7.5:1 9+1 15 31 Right 6.9

Reputation: Let the customer review scores show that this reel is the best lews reel for saltwater. With an impressive 4.5 out 5 stars, the speed spool LFS series guarantees satisfaction.

Our thoughts: I literally have nothing critical to say about this reel. But I would suggest you get a lews blank and make this tackle the best Lews Baitcasting combo for the money.

Pros
  • Packed with impressive features
  • Durable build quality
  • A smooth bearing operation for stable reel performance
Cons
  • None

6. Abu Garcia Ambassadeur S Round Baitcasting fishing reel

best abu garcia baitcasting reel

 

Features

  • Multi-disc drag system
  • 4-pin Centrifugal braking system
  • Synchronized level wind for even line layout
  • Instant anti-reverse
  • 2 stainless steel ball bearings for smooth reel performance
  • Brass Duragear system

Reel overview: Before I start, I gotta share something with you guys. The first time I looked at this reel, I was like, “it’s gotta be a fly cast, oh wait, Nah Nah it’s a spincast reel”. Then I read the title and surprised to see its a Baitcasting Reel.

The name Ambassadeur swells well with this reel. It performs phenomenally season after season with it’s brass Duragear system and zinc frame construction. I know young angler won’t get the design sense but trust me, don’t let this classic look deceive you.

Features in detail: Apart from unappealing design, the rest works really good. Take the multi-disc drag system, for example, any sudden tug in the line will activate the drag system and let out line smoothly. Abu Garcia S round reel design accommodates 2 stainless steel ball bearings for better corrosion resistance and long fishing sessions.

Along with reliable drag, you will need a responsive braking system. Abu Garcia Ambassadeur S round reel offers 4-pin centrifugal braking system for responsiveness and consistent braking power. Instant anti-reverse allows perfect back Reeling and puts less pressure on the drag system. For longer castability and line management, it has a level wind system. Truly it deserves to be the best Abu Garcia round reel.

Reel spec at a glance

Model Monoline
(lbs/yds)
Braided
line
(lbs/yds)
Gear
ratio
Max
Drag
(lbs)
Retrieve
(inches)
Ball
bearings
Handle
position
Weight
(oz)
AMBS
5500
14/230 30/265 5.1:1 11 25 2 Right 10.5
AMBS
5501
14/230 30/265 5.1:1 11 25 2 Left 10.5
AMBS
6500
17/255 30/350 5.1:1 11 25 2 Right 11.10
AMBS
6501
17/255 30/350 5.1:1 11 25 2 Left 11.10

 

Reputation: It has been quite some time since this reel has entered the market. It maintained a pristine reputation among the angler community. And it has numbers to show for it. With 4 out of 5 stars, you can expect a solid overall performance for a fraction of a price.

There might be a downside though. You can’t put this reel through rough handling and expect it to last more than a couple of seasons.

Our thoughts: Do I think this is the best Abu Garcia Baitcasting reel? Absolutely not. But do I think this is one of the best baitcasting reels for the money? Then yes I do. It offers nifty features at a reasonable price. You can practice different bait style with ease. Not a lot of manufacturer offers cheap Baitcasting reels for the performance like Abu Garcia.

Pros
  • Compact bent handle ergonomic design
  • Consistent braking system
  • Ensures accurate cast
Cons
  • A few components might decay without regular maintenance

7. KastKing Stealth Baitcasting Reel

kastking stealth carbon review

 

Features

  • Carbon frame stronger than steel & lighter than aluminum
  • Dynamic drag for instant fish stopping power
  • Super EVA soft knobs
  • Hard forged aluminum gears & aircraft grade aluminum spool
  • Ceramic line guides for braid resistance
  • 11 ball bearings combined with instant-stop one-way bearing clutch

Reel overview: KastKing made twice to this list due to its brilliance and lavish features. The KastKing stealth Baitcasting reel loved up to his name. It operates silently and lands fish with ease. KastKing offers modern features that attract anglers of this generation. Compact design, top-notch performance, durable build quality with a reasonable value is the definition of the best KastKing reel.

Features in detail: KastKing never shies away from implementing useful features. Let’s talk about the build quality. Any reel spin or bait performs better with lighter weight. The stealth series weighs only 6 ounces which are 20% lighter than its rival. All thanks to its carbon frame of course.

Which brings us to the Stealth’s 4 layers carbon disc drag system that squeezes out 16 lbs of dynamic drag power to take care of any big fish. A stopping power you can rely on.

That multi-level twin braking system is the choice of the professional. It can fine-tune the line and achieving the longest cast. A combination of 4-pin internal friction brake and 7-pieces of a magnet which can externally adjust the magnetic brake engagement. The system ensures your diverse lures and casting control.

The title stealth has its reason for existence. The reel is equipped with 11 shielded ball bearings and integration of KastKings very own insta-stop one-way bearing clutch. It helps prevent any corrode from ever forming and ensures higher casting distance as well as accuracy. And don’t forget the super fast hook sets.

This is a no-nonsense build quality from KastKing. The integrated hard forged aluminum gears, aircraft grade aluminum spool and carbon fiber handle with EVA knobs for smooth reel performance as well as greater convenience. The number of nifty features and special ability of these reels has truly placed it under the best baitcasting reels for the money.

Reel spec at a glance

Model Line
capacity
(lbs/yds)
Line
capacity
(mm/m)
Gear
ratio
Max
Drag
(lbs)
Retrieve
(inches)
Ball
bearings
Handle
position
Weight
(oz)
KK-
Stealth-L
10/200
12/165
14/120
0.26/180
0.28/150
0.30/110
7.0:1 16.5 31.5 10+1 Left 5.98
KK-
Stealth-R
10/200
12/165
14/120
0.26/180
0.28/150
0.30/110
7.0:1 16.5 31.5 10+1 Right 5.98

Reputation: KastKing stealth carbon review from users are actually good. With the score of 4.1 out of 5 stars, surely it marked a positive impression in the angling community. Since the reel consists of numerous features, a few of them may or may not malfunction. So in general, there is no inferior aspect of this reel in particular found in overall KastKing stealth review.

Our thoughts: You have to understand that this is a high gear ratio reel. You can do shaky heads, Texas Rigs, Carolina Rigs, jerkbaits, lipless crankbaits and jigs, and big worms comfortably. One of the best KastKing reel in terms of speed and accurate long distance casting. If you love trophy-sized bass than you’re gonna love this reel.

Pros
  • Packed with useful modern features
  • Ergonomic design & durable build quality
  • Superlight & comfort to hold all day long
Cons
  • Nothing significant in particular

8. Abu Garcia Revo Sx low-profile Baitcasting Fishing Reel

abu garcia revo sx review

 

Features

  • Duragear ™ brass gear
  • Eversilk™ coated pinion shaft and pawl
  • Infinite ||™ spool design with compact bent handle and star
  • Line guides are Ti coated
  • 9 stainless steel ball+1 roller bearing
  • C6 carbon side plates & x2-cräftic™ alloy frame

Reel overview: Abu Garcia has been producing quality reel at a reasonable price. The Revo SX low-profile Baitcasting Fishing reel is no exception. It’s a mid-range budget reel aiming for the serious angler who is looking for top tier reel performance with a practical price tag. Premium material build quality, packed with nifty features and flawless performance put this reel at par with other high-end reels in the market.

Features in detail: Building materials play a big role in this reel to be 25% lighter than its predecessor. The Ultralight design is made possible by X2-CRÄFTIC alloy frame and C6 carbon sideplates. For casting accuracy with heavy bait, the reel comes equipped with MagTrax braking system followed by the wide Infiniti || spool design.

It’s important to have smooth and consistent drag power to land a big fish. Abu Garcia Revo Sx is also ahead in this department with their carbon matrix drag system. Line guide may be a small, yet very important part of a reel. This reel features a Duragear system and titanium coated line guide for durability and longevity whereas the D2 gear design enhances efficiency.

You can fight any hard pulling fish with this particular reel thanks to that extended bent cranking handles and power knob for added torque. Which brings us to those 9 stainless steel ball bearings and a roller bearing. The more bearings equal better reel performance and smoothness. Not only the SX series features higher numbers of ball bearings, but they are also premium in terms of quality. The X2-CRÄFTIC alloy frame prevents corrosion and compact bent handle and star allows the reel to be more ergonomic.

All the features in the Revo SX are aimed for better fishing experience. And it delivers not only in papers but in real life too.

Reel spec at a glance

Models Monoline
(lbs/yds)
Braided
line
(lbs/yds)
Max
Drag
(lbs)
Gear
ratio
Retrieve
(inches)
Ball
bearings
Handle
position
Weight
(oz)
REVO3
SX
12/145 30/140 20 6.4:1 26 10 Right 6.65
REVO3
SX-HS
12/145 30/140 20 7.1:1 29 10 Right 6.65

Reputation: Abu Garcia Revo Sx Baitcast reel review section reveals the unmatched positive reputation it earned over the years. With a score of 4.5 out of 5 stars where 92% of customers expressed their satisfaction and praise for this reel.

Our thoughts: There are two models with Medium and high gear ratio available with the Revo SX. You can do squarebill crankbaits, shallow castable umbrella rigs, shallow spinnerbaits, Texas or Carolina Rigs and other bait styles. You can go either saltwater or freshwater with this one and if you’re obsessed with bass then get the REVO SX-HS model. And for reaction strike, REVO3 SX works better at lure presentation. The best fishing reels for sale and the Abu Garcia Revo SX series review section proves the point.

Pros
  • Cast accuracy and frictionless drag performance
  • Drag washers absorb drag pressure hence decreasing the chance of line breakage
  • Premium & comfortable build quality for all day fishing
Cons
  • None

9. Daiwa Millionaire-S Baitcasting Fishing Reel

best daiwa baitcaster

 

Features

  • Anodized durable one-piece aluminum frame
  • Infinite anti-reverse
  • Impressive seven-element Super Drag™
  • 300 sized spool click
  • Certiflex™ automatic centrifugal spool brake

Reel overview: First of all, thank God this reel isn’t priced at a million dollars. Don’t get mad I was just being sarcastic. But seriously, when a reel performs smoothly and accordingly, manage to catch a lot of fish, I bet those moments are priceless.

Introducing Daiwa Millionaire S Baitcasting fishing reel. Although it has a classic look, it will meet your demand. The combination of lightweight build quality and premium material has made this one of the best Daiwa Baitcaster for the money.

Features in detail: This free-floating spool feature has caught my attention in particular. I was a bit skeptical at first but after I cast my line, the long distance convinced me otherwise. So basically the free-floating spool helps to cast further without maximum effort.

The construction method is a solid single piece durable anodized aluminum, so you can say goodbye to the saltwater corrosion. A lightweight yet sturdy aluminum spool is implemented for accurate and smooth line transition.

Infinite anti-reverse or the one-way bearing will prevent back play on the rotor when setting the hook right away. It has reliable brakes too. For braking consistency, it comes equipped with the Centrifugal automatic centrifugal spool brake for instant fish stopping power.

Reel spec at a glance

Model Monoline
(lbs/yds)
Gear
ratio
Retrieve
(inches)
Ball
bearings
Action
FW / SW
Max
Drag
(lbs)
Handle
Position
Weight
(Oz)
M-S250 12/280

14/230

16/200

5.1:1 24.5 11 H / MH 11 Right 10
M-S300 14/330

16/280

20/210

5.1:1 2.45 11 XH / H 11 Right 10.3

Reputation: Daiwa Millionaire S review section really confused me. The reason is, I am using this reel for over 10 months now, never faced any problem other than rugged noise from gear which was solved right away after lubrication.

Anyway, it achieved 3.4 out of 5 stars which is ok. One the other Daiwa millionaire S 300 review in particular shows that it has plastic parts inside. Since when has plastic become the bad guy?

Our thoughts: Straight up this reel offers nifty features for the price of an average reel. If looks are too important for you than don’t go for it. But if performance what you’re after than this one takes the cake. I did deep crankbaits and saw how it generates a lot of torque. You can use slow rolling big, heavy baits like big swimbait and deep water spinnerbaits. Undoubtedly one of the best baitcasting reels for the money.

 

Pros
  • Solid build quality and performance
  • Great value
Cons
  • Classic looks

10. Abu Garcia REVO X low profile baitcasting fishing reel

abu garcia revo x review

 

Features

  • Carbon Matrix Hybrid drag system
  • Duragear brass gear
  • D2 gear design
  • Magtrax brake system
  • Ergonomic compact bent handle and star
  • Corrosion resistant X2-CRÄFTIC alloy frame
  • Lube port for easy maintenance

Reel overview: Introducing another remarkable Baitcasting reel series from Abu Garcia. From price to perform point of view, the Revo x low profile series is one of the best Abu Garcia reels out there. And don’t worry, it doesn’t have a classic look. More like a laser cut state of the art manufacturing look. Ergonomic, compact, nicely polished color finishing will attract young blokes easily. But what’s happening within the good looking reel? Let’s find out.

Features in detail: Those who love bass fishing, can’t emphasize enough for a Revo X Baitcasting series. With their smart-forward thinking design and sleek performance on the water puts it right on par with some high-end Baitcasting Reel. You can use it in hard saltwater water and it won’t get corroded thanks for its X2-CRÄFTIC alloy frame.

For ultra-smooth gear performance, the reel features efficient Duragear™ brass gearing incorporated with enhanced D2 gear design and complemented with improved Duraclutch gear engagement. In simple words “the gear performs smoothly even under heavy stress”.

To improve the smoothness even further, Abu Garcia introduces a 7+1 stainless steel ball bearings. So we all understand by now this one is a smooth performer, but what about when you need to put on a leash? Don’t worry baby, Abu Garcia got you covered on braking sector with their MagTrax technology for braking consistency.

Once you start to pull the fish, the Matrix drag system will engage immediately and provide reliable power and control. Even when you’re cranking, the ergonomic compact bent handle and drag star make it much easier and comfortable. And there is also a lube port for quick oiling on the go.

Reel spec at a glance

Model Monoline
(yds/lbs)
Braided
line
(yds/lbs)
Gear
ratio
Max
Drag
(lbs)
Retrieve
(inches)
Ball
bearings
Handle
position
Weight
(Oz)
REVO4
X
10/175

12/145

15/100

20/190

30/140

50/100

6.6:1 18 27 7+1 Right 7.94
REVO4
X-L
10/175

12/145

15/100

20/190

30/140

50/100

6.6:1 18 27 7+1 Left 7.94
REVO4
H-S
10/175
12/145
15/100
20/190
30/140
50/100
7.3:1 18 30 7+1 Right 7.94
REVO
4X
-HS-L
10/175
12/145
15/100
20/190
30/140
50/100
7.3:1 18 30 7+1 Left 7.94
REVO
4
X-W
10/225
12/180
15/130
20/235
30/180
50/125
5.4:1 18 22 7+1 Right 7.94
REVO
X-W-L
10/225
12/180
15/130
20/235
30/180
50/125
5.4:1 18 22 7+1 Left 7.94

Reputation: Abu Garcia Revo X review section reflects how pristine its reputation is among the angler community. Over the years it managed to achieve 4.1 out of 5 stars with its versatile performance with a competitive price tag.

Apart from a few isolated manufacturing faults, the overall reputation is fine and it has positive fishing reels reviews to show for.

Our thoughts: Again Abu Garcia has produced a bang for buck product that is hard to pass by. I mean you get all kinds of gear ratio, from slow to high with this Revo X lineup.

I’m currently using REVO4 X-W model, and let me tell you, presenting deep crankbaits and spinnerbaits in the deep water couldn’t have been easier. I could manage to keep my baits in the strike zone for longer which is very helpful when angling with moving baits in deep water.

Pros
  • Offers 6 different models to choose from
  • Packed with upgraded features
  • Easy to perform a maintenance task
Cons
  • None

What is a Baitcasting reel?

Well, those who might not know the insights of a Baitcasting mechanism are thrilled, and those who know, I apologize in advance if I miss anything on the go and you can always educate me in the comment section since I still consider myself an amateur even after 18 years of angling.

Also known as the conventional reel, Baitcasters are suitable for experienced anglers to achieve better accuracy and overall control. You can target bigger fish because of numerous features and tweaks the Baitcaster offers. The operation of a Baitcasting reel is similar to the spinning reel. Once you cast the line comes off the spool and through the guides. Now let’s see how individual component operates within the reel.

Gears

Just like spinning reel, it consists of a series of gears that enhances the effect from each turn of the handle. As an example, if your reel gear ratio is 5.1:1, that means the line spool rotates five times as per one turn of the handle.

Freespool

It’s an easy yet nifty feature of a baitcaster. Found even in cheap baitcasting reels. The freespool works are similar like a neutral on a transmission. Once you cats, it allows the reel to spin independently, but in reverse. You can easily put the reel back in gear by turning the handle.

Drag

Drag system works as same as the brake on your car. In the absence of the drag, you will frequently experience line breakage when a fish is hooked and pulling it hard. Basically, the drag system lets the line spool turn backward under severe pressure. Nowadays, even the cheapest fishing reels offer adjustable drag system for you to determine the amount of pressure needed to take the line from the reel.

Levelwind

This is a feature to organize your line evenly. Without Levelwind, you end up using the thumb of the rod to lay the line on the spool. If line piles up too much at either side, the spool gets stuck against the reel creating a huge mess of a line. But thanks to the slow yet even line distribution of this system which allows the line to stay organized after every retrieve.

best baitcasting reels

Benefits of a Baitcasting Reel

  • Easier to use heavy lines
  • Precision casting
  • Longer distance
  • Less line twisting
  • Adjustable features
  • More power & Control

Baitcasting reel drawbacks

  • A bit difficult to master the casting for the novice anglers.
  • It’s difficult to control the release of the line with your thumb.
  • You need a lot of practice to master the manual casting process.
  • You might face backlash on the spool with inconsistent pressure which might result in nasty knots. Which is even annoying to unite.
  • You can present different baits in different condition, which requires proper knowledge and a lot of practice.

In a much simpler overview, you have to understand how to the whole thing works. And practicing for hours is not the only option here. You gotta know what you’re doing if you want to reach for the maestro level.

Baitcasting Reel vs Spinning Reel

  • Spinning reels are more user-friendly, whereas Baitcasting reels let you cast the line for distance and can be adjusted depending on conditions.
  • Spinning reels are engineered for casting light baits ( which is not the case for every spinning reel), but with a baitcaster, the possibilities are endless. You can do Deep crankbaits, Big swimbait, Deepwater swimbaits, squarebill crankbaits, shallow spinnerbaits, Texas Rigs, Carolina Rigs, jerk baits, topwater etc with a baitcaster. (Note, specific bait presentation requires specific gear ratio).
  • You need to learn and practice to become an efficient performer with Baitcasting Reel. With a spinning reel, buy and cast.

FAQ

1. Why my reel is making noise at the time of Casting?

A. Your VBS weights must be dry or worked out. Replace it or apply a drop of oil to each weight. And don’t use any regular oil. Oh no no, use reel oil for better results.

Or maybe the problem lies in spool bearings. Check for any sort of smoothness or corrosion. If you find either, simply replace it. Still, it’s noisy? Then it’s gotta be the dry spool bush. Just apply a single drop oil to the bushing.

2. Why my reel won't cast further like it used to?

A. Again, check spool support bearing for corrosion and smoothness. If it is affected than replace it. Did you put too much oil for smoothness of the gear? Did you know that too much oil can hamper gear velocity this resulting low performance? Just don’t make it too sticky, that’s all I’m asking.

Look for excessive oil or first in the spool shaft or lip. If you find something, then clean it with a Q-tip and rubbing alcohol.

3. My reel suddenly lost all drag pressure, what's happening?

A. Just tighten the drag to its highest. Then with the reel in one hand, use another thumb on the spool to hold it firmly. Now slowly turn the handle, if the spool spins while you’re holding the line in place, congratulations, you have line slippage.

Now it’s time to fix it. Use masking tape around the arbor of the spool or wrap two layers of line. Now normally add the braided line back to the line spool which will allow it some sort of hold and won’t slip away.

4. Why my gears slip or skip when reeling in the fish?

A. Now, this can happen with your Baitcasting reel right out of the package or after long time usage or out of the blue. If you have experienced it, you should take caution because the fact of the matter is, it’s a bit serious in terms of problems.

Inspect your pinion gear or spool shaft for damage. You will likely to notice some sort of bent or crack or just a Stein for sure. This can happen if the spool stops turning after the spool gets engaged or before the lure hit the water.

When the thumb bar gets discharged while the flipping mode is on in mid-cast. While fishing with a super line, the drag is set to tight. These are the possible causes.

The solution consists of a total replacement of pinions gear and spool assembly. it’s also smart to take precautions to avoid damaging these section of the reel in the first place.

  • Avoid engagement of the spool before the lure hit the water.
  • Let go of the thumb bar only after the cast is complete.
  • Tight the drag to the point of slippage on hooksets when angling with a super line.
5. Why my reel backlashes upon casting?

A. These are the possible reasons-

  • You could experience this as you use different baits. Just adjust the VBS weights and you should be fine.
  • If that doesn’t work, turn all weights on and as you start to cast turning them off one at a time to the point of considerable casting distance along with eliminated backlashes. You can also adjust the cast control by fine-tuning.
  • Easy mag isn’t set up accordingly.
  • Like the weight, turn magnet up to 10 and decrease it one point at a time to attain good casts with fewer backlashes.
  • Of the problem persists, then it’s gotta be the cast control cap. Adjust it and your reel should be backlash free.

 

In the end

To my new eager anglers, I would like to share you something that years of angling hours made me realize. It’s not all equipment and how many modern features you can get your hands on. To be a skillful angler, you need to connect with your every cast, analyze your surroundings, understand the water. I know I might sound a bit corny but these insights will feed into your every reflex and become your muscle memories.

I’m telling you there’s a lot going on than just to catch some fish. You’ll understand. That’s it, folks. I hope I’ve done enough to assist you to identify the best baitcasting reels under 100 dollars. Until next time, adiós mis amigos.

Nicholi Wyto

Hey I'm Nicholi Wyto is a professional sports fisherman and hunter, love to enjoy spending time in Michigan’s rugged northern forests. I love to explore my experience and help others who are interested in fishing and hunting.

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.